anitapiuswrites

Short Stories/ Flash Fiction • Creative story-telling • Devour with the eyes and mind


DRY

I stood there looking lost. I couldn’t imagine how they could all be so eager for nothing. I mean it was fine for the other team to be eager but my team… No. Everything about our performance had been sabotaged even before we started. 

The emcee stepped out with two papers in her hands. She took the microphone and the next thing I heard were echoes of unclear voices screaming. Suddenly, Tina, my team member embraced me and at that instant, I could hear her and them screaming, “We won. It’s a tie. We won.”

“We won. How?” I thought to myself while I feigned a laugh. She loosened her grip and ran towards the team. They were all excited. I stood there neither looking at them nor sharing in their excitement even though it was mine too. 

“You can never be good for anything, Azalea. You are worthless and dry. Therefore, you are of no use to me. So, get out.” 

“Please, mum.”

“Get out.” 

J seized me and turned me to him. “Lea,” he beamed affectionately. 

“I told you we would do it. We won, Lea. We won.” He said softly. 

I was speechless. He pulled me close and squeezed me tightly in his arms. 



Leave a comment

Hey, i am anita

FICTION GIRL, NOVELIST, STORYTELLER, POET, CREATIVE WRITER ON A MISSION TO MAKE YOU SEE, HEAR, KNOW, AND FEEL MAGIC IN WORDS AND STORIES.

I’ve been writing since I was a child and I’ve understood that there’s nothing I love more than sitting to unveil and write out the words and stories that echoes in my heart and eventuates on your journey through life .

Because our voices are powerful. Our stories are powerful. And you deserve a vehicle where powerful words can take you on a journey to a place filled with magic and love.

Newsletter

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started